__CONFIG_colors_palette__{"active_palette":0,"config":{"colors":{"eb9e3":{"name":"Main Accent","parent":-1},"673d0":{"name":"Accent Low Opacity","parent":"eb9e3"},"8af29":{"name":"Accent Medium opacity","parent":"eb9e3"}},"gradients":[]},"palettes":[{"name":"Default","value":{"colors":{"eb9e3":{"val":"var(--tcb-skin-color-0)"},"673d0":{"val":"rgba(174, 28, 15, 0.08)","hsl_parent_dependency":{"h":5,"l":0.37,"s":0.84}},"8af29":{"val":"rgba(174, 28, 15, 0.2)","hsl_parent_dependency":{"h":5,"l":0.37,"s":0.84}}},"gradients":[]},"original":{"colors":{"eb9e3":{"val":"rgb(47, 138, 229)","hsl":{"h":210,"s":0.77,"l":0.54,"a":1}},"673d0":{"val":"rgba(47, 138, 229, 0.08)","hsl_parent_dependency":{"h":210,"s":0.77,"l":0.54,"a":0.08}},"8af29":{"val":"rgba(47, 138, 229, 0.2)","hsl_parent_dependency":{"h":210,"s":0.77,"l":0.54,"a":0.2}}},"gradients":[]}}]}__CONFIG_colors_palette__
__CONFIG_colors_palette__{"active_palette":0,"config":{"colors":{"9bd08":{"name":"Main Accent","parent":-1}},"gradients":[]},"palettes":[{"name":"Default Palette","value":{"colors":{"9bd08":{"val":"var(--tcb-local-color-eb9e3)"}},"gradients":[]},"original":{"colors":{"9bd08":{"val":"rgb(19, 114, 211)","hsl":{"h":210,"s":0.83,"l":0.45}}},"gradients":[]}}]}__CONFIG_colors_palette__
Get The Newsletter!

Welcome To My Website!

My name is A.J. Lape and I'm the author of the Darcy Walker Series, Detective Ruby Rivera Vice Series, and the soon to come 15 Saddles MC series. I'm thrilled you dropped by my site, and I hope you check out all of the cool things we've included.


Don't forget to sign up for my monthly newsletter to keep up with my characters and to be the first to know about sales, giveaways, and upcoming releases.

"There's nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed."

Ernest Hemingway

Writing is like riding a razor-thin line between creativity and insanity. First off, throw out what you want for a character or what you’re trying to force on their lives. After you’ve done that, pop a nerve pill when they confess their deepest, darkest secrets that could land them in jail or a straitjacket. Then put them in jail or a straitjacket.

Let them misbehave, talk back, curse, cry, and make your life a living nightmare—doing all those things that would drive you mad as a friend or parent. Then number three…pray these people don’t kill you in the process. When characters have the freedom to peel back the layers in their own self-discovery, they will say things that are raw, crazy, and sometimes hard to stomach, but that’s critical to the nuance of the story. At least one that is steeped in real life.

I'd never envisioned being a novelist, but through a series of Lemony Snicket events, life had me doing a 180. As a result, writing is so much more than a paycheck or dream fulfilled. It's about YOU and providing an escape when you need a laugh or when life gets too real and dragon-fire isn't around. I hope you fall in love with my characters as much as I have and enjoy reading about their ups, downs, celebrations, and colossal mess-ups. We try to keep it real here...and funny.

UPCOMING BOOK!

Ride or Die

Solving crime isn't just fun and games anymore....she now has rules.

Book or eBook: November 2020

Author: A. J. Lape

Series: Darcy Walker

Genres: Women Sleuths, Detective Fiction, Police Procedural, Thriller, Crime Action Thriller, Suspense Action Thriller, Organized Crime, Organized Crime Thriller

Darcy Walker is a rookie police officer working the nightshift in the Los Angeles Police Department. A job tailor-made for adrenaline junkie Darcy, but one thing her new position entails is following the rules. Barely thirty days in and she fights the itch to go rogue when a Vegas mobster named Fat Tony sends someone to kidnap her and a reality television star winds up dead on her watch. 

Against orders, Darcy bloodhounds Fat Tony behind her sergeant’s back and secretly runs her own vice op inside a TV series to find a murderer. But what she sees as going above and beyond the call of duty, detectives take as interference in their cases. She’s on thin ice, and they let her know it. 

Can Darcy stay in her lane and leave investigations to those in the suits, or will Fat Tony kidnap her and it won’t even matter?

For fans of Janet Evanovich, Jana DeLeon, Chelsea Field, and other humorous mystery thrillers, Ride or Die is the first installment in the new Darcy Walker Investigations—an evolution of teenage heroine to pizza delivery driver to police officer on the streets of LA.


UPCOMING BOOK!

Detective Ruby Rivera Vice Series

She's got two things going for her - great legs and she's a great liar.

Book or eBook: January 2021

Author: A. J. Lape

Series: Ruby Rivera

Genres: Women Sleuths, Detective Fiction, Police Procedural, Thriller, Crime Action Thriller, Suspense Action Thriller, Organized Crime, Organized Crime Thriller

Ruby Rivera has come a long way from running guns for a motorcycle club in Las Vegas. She's now a vice detective in the LAPD, spearheading an op to dismantle a sex trafficking ring led by Chauncy Ford. With her cover as Crush, Rivera's mission is to capture Ford's attention and snag a job as a prostitute in his organization. Beside a stubborn will to never fail, she's go two things going for her - great legs and she's a great liar.

Alejandro Gutierrez is haunted by demons - one tattooed on his back and the memory of the young woman he couldn't save. As a leader to an organized crime syndicate, he's supposed to be all-machine. But he can't convince his heart to stop feeling. When a chance encounter with vice operative, Ruby Rivera, draws him into the middle of a sting, he finds himself attracted and offering his expertise. 

Problem is, their day-jobs put them on opposing sides of the law.

When stakes are high and bullets start flying, will they work together as a team? Or will that opposites-attract thing blow up in their faces?

Writing Is Fun, But All Consuming!

Time spent writing between 2008 and the completion of my last book.
37,440
Hours
1,560
Days
4.3
Years

What The Readers Say

Megan

Reader

Based on Darcy’s rec, I tried GM's Dark Magic coffee. It's indeed everything Darcy said about it. Give Green Mountain’s Double Diamond a try!

Chris

Reader

I love love love your Darcy Walker series!!! I’ve read them all the way thru twice and can’t wait for book 6. Please tell me there’s another book coming?

Jennifer

Reader

Are there going to be anymore audio books? I love listening to the books when I’m at work and I’ve already listened to one and two multiple times.

Olivia

Reader

I can’t wait until the next book in the Darcy Walker Series comes out. How many books do you think there are going to be in total in the series?

Stay on top of the action!

Register for exclusive content, news, sales and giveaways!

Our newsletter comes out twice monthly.